The Dana Point Arts and Culture Commission is a decision-making body tasked with reviewing matters related to Arts and Culture in Dana Point. The Commission consists of five members, and all are appointed and serve at the pleasure of the City Council.

The Arts and Culture Commission:

  • Act in an advisory capacity to the City Council in matters pertaining to artistic, aesthetic and cultural aspects of the City
  • Recommend to the City Council the adoption of such rules and regulations as it may deem necessary for the administration and preservation of fine arts, performing arts, historical, aesthetic and cultural aspects of the community
  • On behalf of the City actively encourage programs for the cultural enrichment of the community
  • Perform such other duties relating to the Arts and Culture as the City Council may require
  • Per Dana Point Municipal Code Title 9 Zoning, Chapter 9.05 General Development Standards, Section 240 "Art in Public Places" program, serve as the reviewing and advisory body to the Planning Commission for public art components of development projects.

The City of Dana Point Arts and Culture Commission meets bi-monthly, on the third Wednesday of the month, at 6:00 pm in the City Council Chamber. For a listing of recent or upcoming Arts and Culture Commission items and agendas, use the following links, or contact the Community Services and Parks Department at (949) 248-3519 or email

Arts and Culture Commission Links

Following is a list of the City's current Arts and Culture Commissioners as well as the expiration date of their current term.


Arts and Culture Commissioners

 Maria Elena Banks    (Commissioner)        Term expires June 2019

 Nancy Jenkins            (Commissioner)        Term expires June 2019

  Janie Raub                  (Vice-Chair)                Term expires June 2021

 Karin Schnell              (Commissioner)        Term expires June 2019

 Anthony Small           (Chair)                         Term expires June 2021

Kimberly Williams   (Ex-Officio Member) 

For information regarding Arts and Culture Commission vacancies, please contact Kathy Ward (City Clerk) at (949) 248-3505 or visit the City Clerk's Department online.

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer