Skip to page body Home About Community Living Doing Business Browse by Topic I Want to... Your Government
Banner general

City Government

The City of Dana Point is a General Law City governed as a Council/Manager form of government.

The City Council is comprised of five (5) City Council Members who are elected at large by registered voters of the City. Council Members each serve a four year staggered terms. The City of Dana Point has a two term limit for elected officials. Annually, the City Council appoints a Mayor and a Mayor Pro Tem from its own membership to serve a one year term. The Mayor is responsible for presiding over City Council meetings, representing the City Council at various business and ceremonial events, and executing all City ordinances, resolutions and contracts. The Mayor Pro Tem performs these duties in the absence of the Mayor. As a legislative body, the City Council is responsible for the enactment of local laws (ordinances), the adoption of the annual City Budget and Capital Improvement Program, and the review and adoption of proposed policies, agreements, contracts and other City business items.

Elections are held even numbered years on the first Tuesday following the first Monday in November. The next election will be held on November 4, 2014. Voters will be able to cast ballots for the three expiring City Council terms.

The City Council appoints volunteers to serve on various advisory boards, commission and committees. Each Council Member and the Mayor may serve as representatives on intergovernmental and regional boards, commissions and committees as part of their elected capacity.

Council Members and the Mayor are directly accountable to the electorate and must constantly balance the views of individuals and groups with the needs of the entire community.

Last updated: 10/20/2015 9:30:15 AM