Planning CommissionThe Dana Point Planning Commission is a decision-making body tasked with reviewing matters related to planning and development in the City. The Commission consists of five members, and all are appointed by the City Council.

Typical projects reviewed by the Planning Commission include applications for new development, proposed changes in zoning or the text of the Municipal Code, as well as review of proposed subdivisions of land. The Commission is also responsible for making recommendations to the City Council, such as whether to enter into a Mills Act Contract with a property owner or whether a project or action would be consistent with the General Plan. For more information regarding the Planning Commission, see Section 2.07 of the Dana Point Municipal Code.

The City of Dana Point Planning Commission meets the second and fourth Mondays of each month at 6:00 pm in the City Council Chamber. For a listing of recent or upcoming Planning Commission items and agendas, use the following links, or contact the Planning Division at 949-248-3563 or via

Planning Commission Links:

Follows is a listing of the City’s current Planning Commissioners as well as the expiration date of their current term.

Planning Commissioners
Danni R. Murphy Chair Term expires March 2019
Roy Dohner Vice-Chair             Term expires March 2019
Scott McKhann Commissioner Term expires March 2020
Eric A. Nelson Commissioner   Term expires March 2019
Mary Opel Commissioner Term expires March 2020

For information regarding Planning Commission vacancies, please contact Kathy Ward (City Clerk) at 949-248-3505 or visit the City Clerk’s Department online. 


Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer